et cetera · Uncategorized

I Quit

I know, it’s been a while since I’ve written anything. Much too long, really.

I should correct that.

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything. Yes, there we go. I’ve written, to be sure. I can’t not write. You know this. But I retreated from the online world, and most of the real one, too.
It’s almost like I couldn’t do it anymore.
“It” being just about anything.

So, finally, at long last, I quit… my job.
I knew when I started that I didn’t have the venom to be in management for long. Five months of it was sucking the life out of me, and after I called out two days in a row due to depression completely incapacitating me, I knew I had to do something else.

Tomorrow is my last day.

The plan from here on is simply to write until it’s necessary to get a grown-up job again. That may be a month, it may be six months, I may go back to school before needing to do so. But I have to write.

I’d like to say I’m going to post more, too, but I can’t promise that. Even a world-champion marathoner (which I am not) needs to take it easy after being injured or away from the track for a while (which I have).

So here’s to quitting, and here’s to trying, and here’s to persevering.

4 thoughts on “I Quit

  1. I hope you’re going to find your way dear mouse, I might do the same as you, leaving all of my life behind and go visit Iceland, then Germany, and then who know, but for sure I’ll send you pictures 😊 take care,
    Léo

    Like

  2. Sounds like a wise decision and I hope you’re feeling good about. It takes a lot of guts to walk away from something you’ve put so much of yourself into, but life is too short to be stuck doing something that harmful to your wellbeing.

    I’m sure your writing will be a success, whether here or elsewhere. Don’t be afraid to ask for help if you need anything x

    Liked by 1 person

Squeak or shout, I'm listening.

