Uncategorized

Súlur and Scavenger Hunts

Hello! I’ve had too much coffee and not enough sleep! And this should probably be called Akureryi Part 2 but I’m not going to worry about that right now. 

Two days ago I went on a hike! 

Up there, to be exact. 

It was not easy. As my hiking companion, a guy from Portugal who has been working in Iceland for the summer, said, “That was the best and worst five kilometers of my life.”

Yesterday, I was assigned a scavenger hunt around the city of Akureryi. I won’t post everything I found here (that’s for a later post), but some highlights were: 

The strangest thing on a menu
The Jólaköturrin, the giant Yule Cat who eats people

And

The Akureryi Church, visible from almost anywhere in town.

The scavenger hunt was so much fun, and a great way to get to know a city. Since I’ll be in Seydisfjördur and then Reykjavik, I’d like to do another hunt for cool/funny/interesting/inherently icelandic things. 

So, I’m taking suggestions. What should I look for in those areas, or in general? Should I touch a glacier? Take an embarrassed selfie at the Phallus Museum? Let’s explore!

10 thoughts on “Súlur and Scavenger Hunts

  1. Admittedly never been to Iceland, but in Seydisfjördur apparently you can go kayaking in the harbour, or fishing, and the Skaftfell visual art centre sounds good. http://skaftfell.is/?lang=en

    Unfortunately looks like you’ve just missed the Lunga Art Festival which was at the end of July but it sounds like a nice place just to take in the scenery and do more hiking 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s what I’m looking forward to! Unfortunately a lot of festivals end in July and don’t pick up again until mid or late August, but oh well. 😊 I’ll see what I can see (and take lots of pictures!)

      Liked by 1 person

Squeak or shout, I'm listening.

