On Love & Lust & the Difference Between the Two

The following are three poems about love and sex, most of which were made up on the spot.

Take My Hand

In the quiet moments before the sun
Before the birds awaken and start to bicker
Over who deserves the worm
Before the world stirs
Into early summer energy
There’s the quiet rustle
Of bed sheets
And the imperceptible hush
Of skin on skin
As your fingers lace with mine
In the silent moments of morning
And you murmur, still asleep
To ears that almost don’t hear
The words your hand has already said:
“Baby, you’re gonna be okay.”

Only A Fool

We didn’t make love just now,
And you know it.
Only a fool would call what we just did
“Making love”.
No, we fucked.
That’s what it was.
That’s all it was.
Primal urges and empty hearts,
Physical bodies fulfilling
Biological needs.

As we catch our breaths,
Chests heaving and droplets of sweat
Still forming,
Neither of us will acknowledge
Your fingers lightly tracing
Patterns along my spine,
Causing me to shudder
With delight,
Or how my head naturally finds
That nook in your shoulder
And rests there
Above your beating heart.

We didn’t make love just now,
And you know it.
I know it.

In the days to come,
As I admire the bruises on my legs
– Pulsing and purple –
As you inspect the scratches on your back
– Raw and red –
Neither of us will admit
To each other,
To ourselves,
That physical bodies fulfilling
Biological needs
Might not be a sufficient substitute
For what crave.

No, we fucked.
That’s what it was.
That’s all it was.
Using our physical bodies
And biological needs as
A drug.
To hide our tattered selves
In the tangle of legs and bed sheets,
Allowing the endorphins pulsing
Through our veins to carry us
To the high
Or as close to the high
As we can get without
Making love.

Shouldn’t Have

I shouldn’t have let you
Stay the night
Because now I want you
To stay another.

4 thoughts on “On Love & Lust & the Difference Between the Two

Add yours

  1. I really like the first one. It’s comforting. The last one is kind of sad in that melancholy way. The middle one, I’ll admit, was too much for me. Had to stop reading. ^^’

    Like

    1. I’m glad you like the first one! The second one is much more graphic than I usually write and most of the time I don’t discuss sex at all, but it was one of those pieces that was burning a hole in my pocket, so to speak. I don’t blame you for stopping.
      Thank you for reading! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I liked the second and the third one for its accurate and bold representation of intimate human relations. The first one I felt was more hopeful in nature.

    Great work as always, E! Looking forward to your next post!

    Like

Squeak or shout, I'm listening.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

