Weekend Coffee Share: Work Edition

I made fatal mistake of forgetting to bring a book to work, so come on by and let’s chat! There’s some drip coffee and a “cappucino” machine if you’d like, or any number of sodas. I have my tea behind the counter with me, so fix yourself up and we can hang out for a bit.

Do I always bring a book to work? Normally, yes. Is it always this slow? During the mornings, yes. I can do my entire checklist twice over and still have time to kill.

In some big news, I got a cat! A mouse with a cat, I know, it’s strange, but it didn’t make a lot of sense when I was a fox, either.
Anyway, he’s a five year old shelter kitty, and a giant cuddle bug. I mean “giant” in both the literal and figurative senses – the guy weighs in at 13.7 pounds! He’s easily the biggest cat I’ve ever owned.
Since he’s pretty timid, I’ve started calling him Shy Guy, so that’s how I’ll refer to him here, I think.

Shy Guy’s presence has brought up a lot of mixed feelings for me. On the one hand, I love him because he is a cat – and a cuddly, happy one at that! He’s obviously pleased to have a home and humans to love on him, and that makes me feel like I did something right. But I find myself continously comparing him to Babydoll, my cat who passed away recently. There’s many similarities between the two, but I have to accept the fact that Shy Guy is not – and will never be – Babydoll. I have to love and accept him for who he is.
It’s a tough pill to swallow.

Speaking of pills, I started my Prozac prescription this week. The depression had been kicking my butt, which I think is partly why I haven’t been writing.
It seems my body remembers the last time I was on Prozac (which the doctor said might happen), because there’s been a marked improvement already in my mood and energy levels. It’s not as much of a fight to get out of bed in the mornings, and sometimes the exclamation points don’t feel like an exhausting lie!
(This could also be the placebo effect taking hold, but I choose to believe otherwise.)

How are you on coffee? I’m going to make some more tea – my throat is killing me.

Ah, that’s better. Now I can actually talk without coughing all over the place. I would blame my roommate for getting me sick, but I have a cough and he had a fever, so I don’t think it’s the same thing. We both worry too much, so that probably has something to do with our illnesses.

I’m settling into this new online home fairly well. Sure, I miss my old one, but now that I have some friends here it feels a bit better. There haven’t been any attacks or threats, but that’s not saying much. I’ll have to wait a few months before I can say for certain whether or not to stay a private site.
In the meantime, do you have any suggestions or things you’d like to see around here? I’m open to ideas.

It’s hard to be at work right now; the gray skies are calling me to go hiking, but I also want to curl up with Shy Guy and read all day…. I haven’t had a “me” day in a while, you know?

Oh goodness, I’ve been blathering your ear off. How are you? When was the last time you took a day to take care of yourself? Do you have experience with Prozac?

5 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: Work Edition

Add yours

  1. Aw, Shy Guy sounds like a sweetie. I have two large cats, brother and sister, the male weighs about 30 lbs, the female slightly less. So yeah, I know about large cats. 😉 Enjoy yours, no he isn’t like your other one, but he shouldn’t be. Do you know what his past was like? That might make a difference in how much he comes out of his shyness.
    The husband takes Zoloft, so I don’t know about Prozac. Good luck!

    Like

    1. 30?? Oh my gosh that’s HUGE! My other kitty was maybe 9 pounds soaking wet, so Shy Guy is a beast in comparison – I can’t imagine what a 30 pound cat would be like!
      I know he came to shelter as a stray off the street, but I don’t have any of his history other than that. So far a lot of reassuring pets and no sudden moves seems to be working.
      Thank you!

      Like

  2. I think if I was drinking my chosen Diet Coke while you told me Shy Guy was 13lbs it might have come out my nose- I thought he looked big but that’s huge!!! 🙂 I know how easy it is to compare one pet to the next. And I think knowing that you are doing it is 7/8ths of the battle and that time will take care of the rest. And like my veterinarian uncle likes to oh so eloquently say, sometimes the new pet will never be worth any more than a pimple on the ass of the old. That doesn’t mean you don’t love them it just means that in a lifetime of companion animals there will always be one or two that are extraordinary. I’m glad you’ve got a purr machine in your life again. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Is there a way to follow you so I know when you post? Or do I need to just keep checking? Or you could just slip me a little text or FB chat when you post something 🙂 🙂 oxoxo

    Like

Squeak or shout, I'm listening.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

