Uncategorized

Artistic Adventure: Be Scarier

“If something scares you, be scarier.”

The advice of friends is not to be taken lightly. It was those words that compelled me to take on the biggest art challenge I’ve ever done. The voice of the depression had been shrieking in my head, insisting upon all kinds of untruths that I found myself sorely tempted to believe, sucking the life and joy out of any and all things, and it was, in a word, scary.

And so, I found myself sketching out the beginnings of the fiercest, scariest thing I could think of: an angry wolf.

It started with a piece of paper nearly as big as I am, a pencil, an eraser, and a picture pulled up on my computer.

IMG_20160107_214917
So maybe the size was an exaggeration, but itย is fairly large.

Once I had the beast sketched out, I had to whitewash the whole damn thing because the papery-canvas I was using wasn’t a true white.

20160112_131423

Then came the color-blocking. (I’m not sure if that’s the official name for what I was doing or not. I’ll be honest, I’m making up most of these terms as I go. I’ve never had any formal art training.)

IMG_20160112_195114
I apologize for the quality of this image – my phone’s camera isn’t the best.

Once I got to this point I could really see it taking shape.

After the color-blocking came the details and texture.

To get the “fur” look just right, I ended up doing very small, individual brush strokes with three different sizes of brushes, with the biggest one on the bottom layer, medium size on on the second layer, and so forth. It was painfully tedious and I took small breaks probably every twenty minutes or so to complain to my roommates about it, ha!

But once I got all the fur taken care of, I was able to get to my favorite part: the eyes and mouth!

IMG_20160129_094539

Now, this snarling monster is hanging in the living room, above the couch I’m sitting on as I write this.

I used Artworks, Art Advantage, and Galeria brand acrylic paints. I don’t typically bother myself with brand names, as long as the color is right and the cost isn’t astronomical, but it’s nice to share what’s worked for me.

Have you had any formal art training? What medium of art do you prefer? What scares you?

 

7 thoughts on “Artistic Adventure: Be Scarier

  1. In high school I once took a water color class through our local tech college, does that count? I haven’t painted anything but rocks in years and years though. I’m all for the photography now, with a bit of extra artistic expression through photoshop which would be going better if I could manage to take the time to learn my new version more thoroughly!

    Mountain lions, heights and groups of people focusing their attention on me all scare me. (Going to do a capoeira demo Fri night and I’m nervous already!)

    Like

    1. I haven’t even taken a high school art class, so yes, that totally counts! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Photography is wonderful – I have a bunch of my dad’s photographs all over the apartment. I never could figure out Photoshop! Also, those are some very legitimate fears! Eek! But you’re gonna rock the demo. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. That’s pretty good! I’m a painter (self-taught) for oh gosh, more years than you have been alive. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I started with oils but quickly shifted to acrylic as I’m impatient and couldn’t wait for oils to dry. I also love wolves and have painted some of my own. Not snarling, although I can understand why you would. As for fur, yes it is tedious, but good brushes is a must. The fan brush in various sizes is the best for me for fur. Then if you want you can go back with a liner brush(es) and pull out individual ones here and there. If you ever want some tips, give me a shout through email and I’ll help you as much as I can. I have one of my wolf pics on my blog somewhere. It’s been a while. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Squeak or shout, I'm listening.

