Uncategorized

Down By The Creek

The other day, a new friend – upon learning that I wrote poetry here and there – asked if I ever wrote lyrics. The answer is, “extremely rarely”, but it reminded me that I had written something earlier this year. Now is as good of a time as any. It was inspired by The Postal Service’s “Nothing Better”. Thoughts?

Won’t you walk down to the creek with me
And we can talk about how things used to be,
Like when we didn’t fret about the economy
And the stars held the answers to life’s mysteries.

We can throw rocks in the water and just pretend
That we’re still young and time is still our friend.
So won’t you walk down to the creek with me.

Won’t you walk down to the creek with me
And we can talk about how things were supposed to be.
You were meant to be with her and I wanted to be free.

We can throw rocks in the water and just pretend
That we’re still young and time is still our friend.
So won’t you walk down to the creek with me.
Won’t you walk down to the creek with me.

I never thought I would return
To our small town that I left to burn
When I ran off not long ago.
It wasn’t wise, you told me so,
But I had to leave, I had to go.
You smiled and said you understood
That love makes us do things that we would
Later regret, but you were glad
That I was safe, that I’d come back.

We can throw rocks in the water and just pretend
That we’re still young and time is still our friend.
We can talk about how things might be
So won’t you walk down to the creek with me.

Won’t you walk down to the creek with me..
Won’t you walk down to the creek with me…
Won’t you walk down to the creek with me…
Won’t you walk down to the creek with me…

9 thoughts on “Down By The Creek

  1. I like this. I even like the song lyrics, just wish I knew the tune and still could play my guitar. Bum shoulder now, but wishes are free from pain.

    Like

    1. Thanks. I know it would be better with music behind it instead of standalone lyrics, but alas I don’t play anything so I can’t record the tune I have in mind.

      Like

Squeak or shout, I'm listening.

