My Blanket Fort

forts

You can’t come in my blanket fort.

I made it out of blankets
and sheets
and pillows
and books
and a lamp
and cake
(to eat – no you cannot have any)
and the cat
(for company and decoration).

You can’t come in my blanket fort.

There are dragons here,
but it’s okay, they’re friendly ones.
There are ogres here, too.
But they’re just hungry
and they smell the cake.
A brownie is tidying up the place
and there are rocs and griffins
keeping guard to make sure

You can’t come in my blanket fort.

There’s a universe in here —
several, in fact.
They have vast worlds
full of colors
and people
and places
and things
to see
and touch
and smell
and feel.
It’s a shame

You can’t come in my blanket fort.

You’re missing out on so much.
I just went to see Sherlock Holmes.
I had breakfast with a Tibetan monk.
I battled the sea monster with Perseus.
I rode a unicorn into the war over Narnia.
I drank tea with a giant.
I flew around Neverland.
I went skydiving.
You’re missing out on so much, because

You can’t come in my blanket fort.

I spent three daysdancing to faerie music
under the crescent moon.
I’ve been drunk off of stardust
(it’s delicious, you know)
and my belly is stuffed
with sun tea-cakes.
I have a magical tattoo
that changes shape when you–

What’s that?
You’re sorry?
You’re lonely?
You’re bored out there, all alone?
You want some cake?
You miss the cat?
You miss me?

Well…

Maybe…

If you’re good
and polite
and nice to me

You can come in my blanket fort.

2 thoughts on “My Blanket Fort

Add yours

Squeak or shout, I'm listening.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

