Apricot Bread

I’m not a nervous eater, nor am I a nervous baker, so I have no idea why I’ve been so focused on food lately. Hopefully this recipe will convince you to forgive me!

When I was younger, there was a huge apricot tree in my back yard. Since I was the only one in my family who was able/willing to climb it, it gradually became my safe haven. Of course, every year, the tree rained apricots and we had so many we didn’t know what to do with them all! We would give them away, or my mother would pack them in my lunches, or Brian would make apricot bread. After a few years, we moved out of that house, and since then apricots have become almost a delicacy.

Today, I was at the store, getting some food for breakfast (because peanut butter and strawberry sandwiches only get so far) and I noticed some very ripe, scrumptious-looking apricots. It took me back to the “good-ol’-days” — which in all reality were some of the worst years of my life, but the tree was good — and I thought about trying my hand at some apricot bread. Here is the recipe I used:

Ingredients:

– 1 cup chopped fresh apricots
– 1 cup sugar
– 2 tablespoons butter, softened (or in my case, completely melted)
– 1 egg
– 3/4 cup orange juice
– 2 cups flour
– 2 teaspoons baking powder
– 1/4 teaspoon baking soda

Directions:

In a mixing bowl, combine sugar, butter, and egg, and stir until mixed completely. Stir in orange juice. In a different bowl, mix flour, baking powder, baking soda; stir into sugar mixture until “just combined”. Fold in apricots. Pour batter into a greased 9″x3″x5″ loaf pan. Bake at 350 degrees (F) for 55 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

The result is a sweet, moist bread (kind of like banana bread) that has a citrus-y hint and the tangy flavor of the apricots.

For the original recipe, click here.

Ooh, I wonder how it would taste if white chocolate chips were added. Someone should try that and tell me the result!

Squeak or shout, I'm listening.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

