poetry

Untitled Poem

Branches wave as
Wind whips through them;
Rain beating down on leafy hands.
Such a startling storm.

My roots reach;
I must hold on tight.
My tiny trunk twists;
I must appease the gale.
Such a startling storm.

I can’t do this.
I can’t do this.
I can’t do this.
I can’t do this.

Wind is too strong,
Rain is too mean.
I cry and I moan —
Storm won’t leave me alone.
Such a startling storm.

I break
CRACK.
I fall
CRASH.
I tumble
BOOM.
I’m broken.

Such a startling storm.

This piece was dated Dec. 5, 2011, and was accompanied by a sketch of a broken tree. I found it when I was cleaning out my car.

2 thoughts on “Untitled Poem

  1. Your a great writer, you have wonderful talent that I hope someday you will be able to pursue further. I love your blog. Keanu introduced me to it. And he was right, you have wonderful skills. I hope you keep posting, I would love to keep up with what you write about. Haha and I hope me commenting isn’t bothering you.

    Like

Squeak or shout, I'm listening.

